• Home
  • /
  • List of Eligible Countries

List of Eligible Countries

Côte d’Ivoire is one of 39 sub-Saharan African countries eligible for AGOA. A country’s eligibility for AGOA is renewed on a yearly basis, depending on its performance in terms of good governance, market liberalism, respect for workers’ rights, etc.

  • South Africa
  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Cabo Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Comoros
  • Republic of Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Ethiopia
  • ESwatini
  • Gabon
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Tanzania
  • Chad
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia

AGOA eligible countries are allowed to have a delegation of eight (8) members, which includes the Minister of Trade, seven members; in this case, The Minister is the Head of the Delegation.

African regional organizations invited to the AGOA Forum include- The African Union- The African Development Bank- The Economic and Monetary Community of Central African States (CEMAC) – The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the Customs Union and the African Development Community (SADEC), the Economic and Monetary Union of West Africa (UEMOA) and the Economic Commission of the African Union (ECA).

The African Union is entitled to three (3) invitations and other regional organizations, two (2) invitations.

Other guests include:

US government officials, the Private Sector (African and US with a limited number); Civil Society (African and US with a limited number of guests); AWEP (African Women Entrepreneurship, with a limited number); YALI (Young Leaders’ Initiative, with a limited number).